ETL Three different ways

Og Ramos
5 min readFeb 26, 2022

Data Engineer Blog 0x0017 — Saturday Morning Coffee

Fine dining table with wine glasses, and gourmet salmon.
Photo by Jay Wennington on Unsplash

Hello everyone! First of all, thank you for your patience. Last week I posted a thank you to all of you. Medium asked me to obtain 100 followers to keep the Partnership Program. Reaching out through social media and with the help of some good friends, Giri and Ziko, I’m looking at you; we achieved that goal in two days!

Again, thank you all!

Introduction

We’ve spoken about ETLs here before. So, I won’t go into the details of what an ETL is. If you’re curious to know, I recommend you look at this article I wrote.

These past two weeks, I was helping a friend with a project which entailed creating an ETL from their CRM system to a new database instance where they wanted to land the data for analysis. My quick reaction was to go to a cloud service. But, in this case, the client didn’t have access to their cloud services, and they were doing this data warehouse for their business unit and not the whole company. They did, however, have access to a virtual machine running a SQL Server…

--

--